Commercial vehicles continue upward trend

News
December 21, 2011

December 21, 2011

Demand for new commercial vehicles in Europe continued to grow in November 2011 with figures showing registrations up 8.4% compared to the same month in 2010. 

From January to November 2011, the EU market expanded by 10.5%, recording 1,769,994 new vehicles. While Germany (+18.9%) and the UK (+18.0%) performed similarly, France posted a 5.9% growth and the Spanish market contracted by 5.9% compared to the same period a year ago.

North America has also witnessed growth in the commercial vehicle sector during January-November 2011, with light truck vehicle production up 9.3% (at 6,899,908) and medium/heavy truck production up 57.8% (349,763) on the same period in 2010.    



EU Passenger car registrations down but North American production up

In November, demand for new cars in the EU decreased by 3.5%, amounting to 1,030,414 units.

From January to November, new car registrations totalled 12,157,119 units in the EU. While the German market expanded by 9.1%, results in France (-0.3%), the UK (-4.5%), Italy (-10.6%) and Spain (-18.8%) were all negative, leading to an overall 1.4% downturn in the region.

In North America the results were far better, with car production in the US, Canada and Mexico up 8.8% to 5,159,556 for January – November 2011.

Edited by: Paul Whittaker, Editor ipmd.net, [email protected]   

News | Articles | Market reviews | Search directory | Subscribe to e-newsletter

 

www.ipmd.net

News
December 21, 2011

In the latest issue of PM Review…

Download PDF

Extensive Powder Metallurgy industry news coverage, and the following exclusive deep-dive articles and reports:

  • Phoenix Sintered Metals: A story of transformation, growth and community from America’s PM heartland
  • World PM2024 Yokohama: The stage is set for the PM industry to find a path to sustainable growth
  • The state of Europe’s hard magnets industry and the challenge of optimising the mass production of Nd2Fe14B permanent magnets

The latest news from the world of metal powders, delivered to your inbox

Don't miss any new issue of PM Review, and get the latest industry news. Sign up to our weekly newsletter.

Sign up

Join our community

Discover our magazine archive…

The free-to-access PM Review magazine archive offers unparalleled insight into the world of Powder Metallurgy from a commercial and technological perspective through:

  • Reports on visits to leading PM part manufacturers, metal powder manufacturers and industry suppliers
  • Articles on technology and application trends
  • Information on materials developments
  • Reviews of key technical presentations from the international conference circuit
  • International industry news

All past issues are available to download as free PDFs or view in your browser.

 

Browse the archive

 

Looking for PM production equipment, metal powders, R&D support and more?

Discover suppliers of these and more in our
advertisers’ index and buyer’s guide, available in the back of PM Review magazine.

  • Powders & materials
  • Powder process, classification & analysis
  • PM products
  • Atomisers & powder production technology
  • Compaction presses, tooling & ancillaries
  • Sintering equipment & ancillaries
  • Post-processing
  • Consulting & toll sintering
View online
Share via
Copy link